free web stats

The 3rd annual PTC Punjabi Film Awards took place in Chandigarh  The event marks the success of Punjabi Cinema in the last few years and recognizes the contributions made by the current artists and those of the past.  Songs such as Tere Kanaka di Rakhi mudeya of Mohammad Rafi and Shamshad Begum played in the background as artists danced to the popular tunes of the glorious era of Punjabi Cinema.

The past year, Punjabis had to bid farewell to prominent multi talented personalities :  Dara Singh and Jaspal Bhatti.  PTC Awards honored both of these celebrities with lifetime achievement awards.  Dara Singh’s son, Vindu Dara Singh, and Savita Bhatti, the wife of late Jaspal Bhatti were present to accept the honor.

The actor and singer, Diljit Singh, and the comedian Kapil Sharma entertained the crowd with their hosting, especially Kapil Sharma.  There were numerous celebrities present at the PTC Punjabi Film Awards which made it memorable.  These included Jimmy Shergill, Divya Dutta, Gurdas Mann, Gippy Grewal, Satinder Sartaj, Satwinder Satti, Preeti Sapru, Jazzy B, Honey Singh, Sunny Deol, Raveena Tandon, Manisha Lamba, Himesh Reshamiya to name a few.

In between the show, Satinder Sartaj unveiled his new album and Miss Pooja also did not waste any time promoting her upcoming movie, Pooja Kivein aa.   Sunny Deol was also present to promote his upcoming movie, Yamla Pagla Deewana 2, and stated he would like to do a Punjabi movie in the future.

Let’s go to the awardlist:

Best Film : Jatt & Juliet
Best Film (Critic Award) : Carry on Jatta

Best Actor : Diljit Dosanjh (Jatt & Juliet)
Most Popular Star of the year : Gippy Grewal – Carry on Jatta
Best Actress : Neeru Bajwa for Jatt & Juliet
Best supporting Actress: Upasana Singh for Jatt & Juliet
Best supporting Actor : Gurpreet Ghuggi for Carry on Jatta

Best performance in a comic role : Beenu Dhillon & Jaswinder Bhalla
Best performance in a negative role : Rahul Dev – Mirza – The Untold Story

Best Debut Female :  Monica Bedi for Sirphire
Best Debut Male : Honey Singh for Mirza – The Untold story

Best Director – Critic’s Choice – Sameep Kang – Carry on Jatta
Best Debut Director : Anurag Singh – Jatt & Juliet

Background Score : Jatinder Shah for Mirza the untold story
Best Editing :    :  Bunty Negi for Carry on Jatta
Best Story :  Atharv Baluja & Rahul Deveshwar for Raula Pae Gaya
Screenplay : Dheeraj Rattan for Jatt & Juliet
Best Dialogues :  Naresh Kathuria for Carry on Jatta
Best Cinematography : Toby Gorman – Mirza – The Untold Story

Best lyricst : Harman for Pata ni rabb kehryan rangan vich raazi
Best Music Director : Jatinder Shah, Honey Singh for Mirza – The Untold Story
Best Playback singer (Male) : Rahat Fateh Ali Khan – Mirza – the untold story
Best Playback singer (Female) : Sunidhi Chauhan for Patang wali dor – Sirphire
Most popular song of the year : Pooja Kiven Aa – Sharry Mann – Jatt & Juliet